Continuing to write on the blog and the most popular types of posts

Should I continue to blog is something that I’m asking myself as we round out 2019. I don’t pay too close attention to stats but this year my readership has grown nicely over. I’m up about 3 times as many views, which I’m extremely grateful. In 2019 I concentrated more on writing and dropped off on other projects, which enabled me to write more. I also dropped a little of my time spent on social media, this also helped me focus more on sharing my thoughts on my own platform.

But I keep seeing blogging is dead and people don’t read them anymore.

What I’ve found is that there is little to no interest in posts like this one but there is an appetite still for guides and how to’s.

In fact looking at my statistics the top 3 posts have 4 times as many views as anything else and are all related to how to’s.

I don’t really want to change my writing or blog to become a help site but it’s eye opening. I put more work into more heartfelt posts but no one reads them, maybe these are more suited to sharing on social instead of the blog.

I’ve just renewed my domain for another 12 months but I think I’m going to spend a few weeks digesting these findings and figure out where to put my energy in 2020.

I’ve got a few projects I’d like to focus and I’ll have to see where the blog lands in terms of priorities. It’s focus may change in the new year but at the moment I’ll stick to what’s it’s been doing for the last year or so, my random thoughts mixed with Apple stuff 😀.

Are you running a blog? Are you seeing the same sort of stats?

Lee Peterson @LJPUK