I’ve stopped using Google on iOS

I’ve had a love/hate relationship with Google and their services over the last year and finally decided to stop using their products on iOS. This means that I’ll be using iCloud for my mail and Apple Maps, which actually works pretty well for me. When I refreshed my iPhone and iPad I decided to not sign into Google for my mail in settings or the Google sign in for their apps. I don’t entirely trust what iOS is giving them access to.

This also means that YouTube is a service that will stick with my main TV. This isn’t actually a bad thing as it means I have less distractions to stop me from being productive on my mobile devices.

The only issue I’ve run into so far is my micro.blog app won’t work as I need to authenticate using gmail. So I won’t be using it and will use the Wordpress app to post my thoughts instead.

Let’s see if I can make it.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK