LG OLED banding issues

If you buy an OLED TV from LG it looks to be that a percentage of the shipped units will show banding pretty quickly. I’ve owned a 55” B7 since last November and am now in a position where I have a TV with an issue.

You can see from both images my TV is showing an issue on the right hand side. A vertical banding that shows on anything with a darker picture. This happens across all inputs.

I called Richersounds who directs you to LG if your TV is within manufacturers warranty. My issue is now with LG, they are not acknowledging a problem.

Their message is I’m watching TV in the wrong conditions. To add injury their staff talked down to me on the phone, almost rude to the point I had to hang up.

To me this is an issue. I shouldn’t have to watch in ideal natural lighting, if I do then market your TV to state that fact. If I’m watching at home in low lighting I shouldn’t expect to see issues.

I’ll be taking this up with Richersounds now to help me with LG.

I’ll update this post as I move through the process.

Update

It would appear to have now been acknowledged and I’m expecting an in house repair.

Update

New panel being ordered.

Update

New panel fitted.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK