How to post to Micro.Blog from Apple Notes

As you’ll know if you follow me I have recently gone all in on Micro.Blog both as a blogging and social networking platform. I have though found the app choices not great if you want to write longer form posts like this one. They are great for less than 280 chars but if you want to write longer I struggle to use the Micro.Blog app.

Here’s how I’m posting.

I go into my ‘Writing’ folder in the Apple Notes app on my iPad or iPhone, do my title and start to write up the post.

I cannot embed images into the post and also hyperlinks are like this ljpuk.micro.blog/. Once I’m happy with the post I will use the share sheet icon in the top right of the note and pick the Micro.Blog extension. I can reformat as I need to and add tags then post directly from there to Micro.Blog.

The drawbacks of using this method of Apple Notes is that you cannot add text to the URL i.e. replace the long address with alternative text and it cannot handle images within your post. I still need to test if I can write in Markdown within Apple Notes then use this same method to get around the URL sharing issue but it still won’t fix the image embed that I’d like to be able to use for traditional how to’s etc.

If you have any tips on this please let me know.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK