Moving from Wordpress to Micro.Blog

I’ve finally got myself together and moved from Wordpress to Micro.Blog 👍

I’ve been with Wordpress for years but recently I’ve started to review where my content is going and who I want to support on the internet going forward. I was already getting a bit fed up of Wordpress with the app updates seemingly wanting to set the block editor to be the default with every app update and a constant reminder to upgrade my plan wherever I seemed to navigate on the site. This lined up nicely with my decision to come away from Twitter and come back to a more socially responsible place to share my thought, somewhere I’m not the product and own my content.

When thinking about my options I always came back to Micro.Blog. It allowed me to continue to post my shorter and longer thoughts, allowed for interaction and was somewhere that lined up with my own values.

I signed back up and gave it a test and was impressed so I went all in. I exported all of my posts as XML from the admin pages on Wordpress, imported them into Micro.Blog (via the posts page) and cancelled my Wordpress plan. I am also going to cancel my .blog domain to be the micro.blog one instead. I like this URL and it also shows I’m supporting a worthy platform.

I’m only a week in but already feeling like I have a bit more headspace, feel great about supporting this platform and had nothing but great interactions with the community.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK