My favourite iPhone’s

I’ve been less inspired to write but on pondering what to do I came up with an idea of sharing my favourite iPhone models. I’m just going to do a top 5 for now as I thought it might be interesting to look back a bit but not go into too much detail as to get boring. This is in no particular order, they are all my favourites.

iPhone 11 Pro

I didn’t think I’d have a phone with FaceID in my top 5 but here it is. I really love using my 11 Pro, the main reason - the camera. I won’t post a load of samples as this has been done before but just to say that both indoors and when it’s getting darker outside there’s no iPhone that compares. I’ve also noticed that in good light indoors when I zoom into images I’m seeing so much more detail than on previous iPhone’s.

This is indoors with no overhead lighting, just the light from one window. You can even see the weave on the keyboard material.

I continue to use and enjoy portrait mode and the 2x zoom.

I never use the ultra wide angle, I just find that the image quality really suffers and especially in bright light I see lens flare (great for JJ, not for me…).

Durability has been good, even with no case and drops. I’ve got a little scratch on the side where it was dropped and a few light marks to the screen, nothing major.

Battery is still impressive and I’m going two days between charges at the moment.

Downside is obviously cost but I ended up selling an older model to help pay the overall cost.

iPhone 5c

Seems an odd choice given it’s popularity but the 5c is in my top 5. I loved the plastic back, reminded me of one of my other favourite models (3G) and was comfortable to hold. I didn’t worry about drops and the scratches gave it some character. I had both the yellow and white variants over time and part of me wishes Apple would do a plastic backed 11.

iPhone 3G

My first iPhone, I did own an original later and still have it but I waited for 3G before jumping in. When I got it the App Store was already established and I was using an iPod on a daily basis so combining my phone and music player was the main draw. I babied it a bit at the beginning but soon used without a case and loved the comfort and durability of the form factor.

iPhone 5

Appreciate I already have a 5c but the 5 was a nice return to something that I could use without a case. I came from the 4, which is my least favourite model. The glass back made it less durable and slippery so having a metal case and slightly longer form factor was comforting to me. The camera was a nice bump too on this model and I used it up until a drop then I sold and switched to the plastic 5c.

iPhone 6

Having my trusty 5c I was reluctant to switch but the metal backed bigger screened 6 felt good straight away. The camera wasn’t a big jump but the screen size was a nice addition.

What are your favourites?

Lee Peterson @LJPUK