The 2020 iPad Pro or a refurbished one?

I know it’s seems like an odd time to be talking tech but I think it’s good to have a distraction, that’s something I’m doing so ploughing on with writing and some creative projects. Anyway that’s not why I’m writing this post.

The surprise iPad Pro announcement this week was interesting and with it’s new trackpad keyboard cover it’s got me thinking about my setup.

My 10.5” iPad Pro is still great but the battery is on it’s last legs and you wouldn’t believe how much having a Bluetooth mouse plugged in drains the battery. I’ve gone three years and thinking it might be time.

The question is though should you get the new one or save some money with a refurbished model?

Looking at a refurbished 2018 model you’re saving about £150 and still getting

  • That cool new design
  • FaceID
  • Small bezels
  • Compatibility with the lighter Apple Pencil
  • Compatibility with the new keyboard and trackpad cover

What are lose is

  • Fastest processor
  • Ultra wide camera
  • New AR optimised camera
  • A brand new battery (unless you get an Apple refurb)

For me those aren’t important, the processor isn’t that much faster than the 2018 in what I’ve read and AR is still early.

My biggest question now is should I get a 12.9” again?

I’d keep my 10.5” so I’d have something more portable but with it’s new trackpad I’m thinking bigger might be the way to go.

But saying that I need to sell my 10.5” and MacBook really to fund it.

I’ll wait a bit I think but looking forward to seeing that trackpad and keyboard combo.

Personally I’d look at picking up a used 2018 and using the money saved to get the keyboard and trackpad case from Apple.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK