Apple Watch may outsell traditional watches but the brands don’t need to make one

Now I’ve been getting back into traditional watches I feel like I can weigh in a bit here and give my own opinion. Articles like this one seems to delight in the fact that they are losing some sort of smart watch war but they aren’t even in it.

Traditional Swiss watch makers, like Swatch and Tissot, are losing the smartwatch wars. Apple Watch is delivering a better product through deeper retail channels and appealing to younger consumers who increasingly want digital wristwear. The window for Swiss watch brands to make an impact in smartwatches is closing. Time may be running out for Swatch, Tissot, TAG Heuer, and others.

If you've even used a traditional watch for more than a few days and appreciate it’s simplicity, design and history then you’ll realise that the smart brands will never be in the smart watch game and stick to their roots.

For me now I’ve gotten to appreciate a more distraction free traditional watch I find I don’t want to go back to wearing an Apple Watch. Yes I can pair down notifications but for me it just looks like a screen on your wrist, the design isn’t actually that great.

Part of the appeal of a traditional watch (for me) is the design and history. The Apple Watch sat in my wrist with just a square screen and nothing on it just looks a bit rubbish.

As someone getting back into watches I tend to have a little look around at what people are wearing and when I see the "younger" crowd I'm seeing either nothing or a Casio, mostly F91w's. I don't think I personally know anyone under the age of 40 with an Apple Watch.

I'm not saying it isn't popular or course but I think this article misses the point. Traditional watch people will stay traditional watch people, appreciating the design and history of a brand or having a sentimental connection to a particular watch they own.

The way I see Apple Watch these days is purely as a fitness tracker that can supplement a traditional watch. I'd love a redesign but that's a story for another day.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK