Using the iPad Mini as a Kindle alternative

A big draw for getting an iPad Mini for me was using it to read. I find the larger iPad (my 10.5”) a little cumbersome to use comfortably. The screen is great but find I read less. Well, since getting the Mini I’ve almost read a book already. I use iBooks so made sure I had my current library and travelled with it yesterday.

I found the screen to be great both indoors and outdoors (avoid direct sunlight). The advantage over a Kindle for me is I have a device I can obviously do more on. I chucked my headphones on and used Apple Music and away I went.

The screen vs e-ink should tire your eyes more but for me it’s fine and I appreciate the backlight.

Paired with the Smart Cover I’m finding the iPad Mini to be a great, light book reading machine.

Lee Peterson @LJPUK