How I use DayOne

I’ve been using the journaling app DayOne since 2011 and it’s one of the only apps from that time I’m still using. As you most probably know I change my mind like the weather but this app has stuck with me.

First off I should explain that I don’t use their sync service. Journaling is very personal and it’s not I don’t trust DayOne but the less data I have out there the less there is to potentially lose. I used the import from DayOne classic function to move my data into the new app. I then backup manually by exporting to JSON and saving into an iCloud folder. I’ll do a post on this method soon.

I use DayOne in one of two ways.

Firstly I’ve found that I add images to remember day trips out, things I want to remember like first time as a family we went on holiday along with an image for each day and what we did. This has become my main use, a photo log of our life.

Secondly I’ve started more recently to try and look on the bright side of life and write down three positive things that happen each day.

Over the last 6 months this is where I’ve come to realise that I use this app for only these two purposes.

It’s become a habit for me and something that I (almost) daily make sure I do.

Do you journal or use DayOne?

Lee Peterson @LJPUK